Writing Earfillers–Mozart, Thunderstorms and Fall Out Boy.

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.” ~ Victor Hugo, author.

laptop

What do you like to listen to while concentrating? Can you work on your homework in blissful silence or do you prefer a little ambience while you work? In this post, I will offer some help and handy links if you’re struggling to find the perfect balance between dead silence mosh pit madness.


Every writer writes under different conditions. Some writers like to write anytime and anywhere, often scribbling pages of dialogue on crowded buses into town. Others prefer to sit at their desk at a specific time every day and only cease tapping at the keyboard when they reach 2,000 words. Some writers like to listen to the current pop sensations as they they hack away at their laptops. Others prefer to sit in stony silence as they type their latest masterpiece.

Personally, I do a mixture of all of these. When I’m busy with college, I tend to write at any opportunity I get, spending my free periods cramped up in the library with notebooks and folders spread around me as I scribble a chapter or two. But as it is summer at the moment, I have been trying to write every second of the every day. And, as you can probably guess, it’s not working very well. As a self-proclaimed Queen of Procrastination, the more I tell myself to write this stupid story, the more I try not to. The more Tumblr drags me away into the depths of Fangirland, and the more I want to rewatch episodes of Once Upon A Time for the sixth time. After all, what else are summer holidays for?

In regards to my musical writing conditions, my tastes are… eclectic to say the least. Here are some tips if you’re wondering how to fill your ears while you pour your emotions onto paper. I know that I write better in silence, and can hardly squeeze two words from my pen when the TV is on, although that doesn’t stop me from wasting hours trying. For some people, writing in front of the telly works just fine. If you’re one of those people, you are a rare genius.

I enjoy listening to music that matches the tone or theme of the piece I’m writing. Is my character angry? Fall Out Boy understands. Is my character lovesick? Taylor Swift gets it. But, like with the TV distraction, that doesn’t often work out very well.

Instrumental music is a good compromise. When writing a mystifying and fantastical scene, you could try listening to the beautiful flying music from the 2003 Peter Pan film (which never fails to give me goosebumps). If you’re writing something more dramatic, Mozart or Beethoven is a good choice.

Another of my favourite writing earfillers, are simple background ambient sounds. Although you can find some relaxing ambience on sites like YouTube or Spotify, there are specific websites set up for this specific purpose. Here are some links to my absolute favourites:-

Coffitivity and Rainy Mood really work for me while the others get a little repetitive after a while. If music is too distracting and silence too chiding, these are perfect.

How do you like to fill your ears while focusing? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

