TV REVIEW: OUAT, A Tale of Two Sisters

Warning: This review will contain spoilers of episode 4.01 of ABC’s Once Upon A Time.

When I saw the finale of the third season, I think I might have squealed. Ever since then, I have been avidly waiting for the debut episode of the fourth season and I was not disappointed. At all. This episode was everything that I had looked forward to, and more.

First off, there’s the brilliant opening scene – the brilliant, tragic opening scene – but I’ll let you see that for yourself.

Let’s start with the characters we know and love. Regina’s story is a tricky one. Always the villain, will she ever get her chance at the Happily Ever After she’s always dreamed of? The problem lies with Marian, whom Emma Swan brought back from the dead when she travelled in time.

In this episode, we see Regina’s heart get broken all over again when Robin tells her that he has to choose his wife. There was a lot of nervousness around whether Regina would revert back to her evil ways, but to many breaths of relief, she has come too far for that. At least we think. There seems to be a rather interesting storyline developing involving the author of the book.

Has everyone forgotten about August? Anyone else find it uncanny that he claimed to be a writer, and knew exactly how to format and make the pages of his story for Henry’s book?

And then we have Rumbelle, and their intriguing story that is being unravelled. As they go on honeymoon, we witness the most beautiful scene in Disney history. As the gorgeous music begins to play (‘’tale as old as time…”), Belle’s dress and Rumplestiltskin’s suit are transformed into the iconic costumes that have taken breaths away since 1991. This heartwarming scene is possibly the best thing I have ever witnessed, but it can only be a calm before the storm which makes me nervous.

Another interesting development in Rumple’s tale is the discovery of a little box. When Rumple waves his dagger over it, it transforms into an object just as iconic as the Beauty and the Beast ballroom scene; a hat owned by a certain Magician’s Apprentice.

And, of course, there’s Captain Swan. Although they are rather busy running around after a giant, angry snowman, they still manage to share a few precious moments. The characters are clearly infatuated with each other, and I believe possibly even in love. Hook is certainly ready to love Emma, but Emma is clearly struggling to find space for it.

But have no fear, Captain Swan shippers! There is light on the horizon yet. The sweet little kiss they share is enough evidence for that. And my favourite sharing of lines:-

Emma: You wanna go home and see what’s on Netflix?

Hook: I don’t know what that is, but sure! (He smiles adorably.)

Finally, we get to our new characters, and boy did they fulfil my expectations! Georgina Haig (Fringe) and Elizabeth Lail (Model Airplane) are absolutely perfect for their roles as Frozen’s Elsa and Anna, and Scott Michael Foster (Greek)’s Kristoff more than fits the bill, too. I cannot express just how much I love these characters, and how well these actors play them. I am truly full of nothing but praise.

And, of course, we can’t forget dear old Grand Pabbie, voiced by John Rhys-Davies (Lord of the Rings). The animators created the rock troll absolutely flawlessly.

I feel like every single scene of this episode is a highlight. I am sure that you will all agree with me when I say that the show creators, Adam Horowitz and Edward Kitsis, have outdone themselves with this one. Well done, and thank you!

Who would I recommend this to?

  • Disney fans
  • Frozen fans
  • Anyone who enjoys becoming emotionally attached to fictional characters, because trust me, you will be.

Star Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

Leave a Reply

